Optical Network

::: Terminology List - Total 38 terms in the database

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z     All

1+1/1:1 protection  3R regeneration  CWDM  DWDM  Electronic signal repeaters versus optical amplifiers  Ethernet passive optical network (Part I)  Ethernet passive optical network (Part II)  Fiber bandwidth and bands  Fiber dispersion  Forward error correction (FEC) coding  GMPLS  Greenfield network dimensioning  Jitter  Lightpath  Multi-state coding  Network dimensioning procedure  Network failure types  Network survivability  New generation carrier network  OADM  On-off keying modulation  Opaque networks  Optical fiber  Optical multiplexer and demultiplexer  Optical transmission terminal  Optical transport network  Optical Transport Network (OTN)  OXC  Shared backup path protection (SBPP)  Synchronous transmission standards  Traffic engineering  Traffic grooming  Translucent networks  Transparent island  Transparent networks  Wavelength channel  Wavelength conversion  WDM  

Synchronous transmission standards

SONET and SDH are two standards evolved from the traditional PHD. Both of them are time division multiplexing (TDM) techniques. SONET is the North America TDM standard, while SDH is the TDM standard commonly used in Europe and Asia. SDH has become a global standard and SONET is now a subset of SDH.

Both SDH and SONET define digital multiplexing hierarchies, which are compatible in their data rates. They support both nonsynchronous TDM and synchronous TDM hierarchies. SONET’s nonsynchronous TDM hierarchy is based on the DS1 signal (1.54 Mbps), which is made up of 24 DS0s (56 Kbps per DS0). SDH’s nonsynchronous TDM hierarchy is based on E1 signal (2.048 Mbps), which is made up of 32 E0s (64 Kbps per E0). Table below shows the nonsynchronous TDM hierarchies for both SDH and SONET.

Both SONET and SDH also define synchronous multiplexing hierarchies to enable the two types of networks to interconnect each other. SONET starts from STS-1 (corresponding to OC-1 in the optical domain) to include STS-3 (OC-3), STS-12 (OC-12), STS-24 (OC-24), STS-48 (OC-48), and STS-192 (OC-192). SDH starts from STM-1 to include STM-4, STM-16 and STM-64. At OC-3 and STM-1, SONET and SDH match in their data rates. Table below shows the interface rates of the SONET/SDH multiplexing hierarchies. In real networks, the data rate of STS-24 (OC-24) is seldom used.

Added: 10th May 2009 09:40:07 PM   Modified: 10th May 2009 09:48:53 PM

Site Search


Affiliate Sites

IP application

Directory Links

Ciena Optical University
New generation carrier network
VPI transportmaker
American National Standard Institution (ANSI)
Towards Optical Service-Aware Networks in Asia-Pacific
Advice on Research and Writing (compiled by Hui Zhang)
Photonic Network Communications
Rick Gallaher's MPLS Training Guide
Esp@ceNet (EPO)

Copyright(c) Optical Hub All Rights Reserved Contact webmaster